Town Council

Welcome from the Mayor
(Cllr. Shirley Jones-Roberts)

I would like to welcome all viewers to the Abergele Town Council web site. This, I hope, will be a valuable source of information about Abergele Town Council and our community in general.


Future Generations Report 2020 Feedback Conference

As you may know, producing a Future Generations Report is one of my duties under the Well-being of Future Generations Act.


About your Council

Cyngor Tref Abergele Town Council

A brief Introduction

mandyPrior to 1974, Abergele was an Urban District Council in the historic county of Denbighshire. Abergele Town Council was created in 1974 following the re-organisation of local government and the disbanding of Abergele Urban District Council. At the time of re-organisation in 1974, the area covered by Abergele Town Council included Llanddulas and Rhydyfoel in the west, and Towyn and Kinmel Bay in the east. Following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales, the area covered by Abergele Town Council was divided into three new communities in 1983 – Llanddulas and Rhydyfoel, Towyn and Kinmel Bay, and Abergele. Since 1996, Abergele has been one of 33 community councils in the new County of Conwy. It has the status of a town council with a town mayor.

Abergele has a population of 10,577 (2011 Census) and for local government purposes the town is divided into four wards. The town has 16 councillors representing the following wards – Gele (6 councillors), Pensarn (3),
Pentre Mawr (6), St George (1).
The present councillors were elected in May 2017 to serve a five year term.

The Council at its Annual Meeting in May elects a Town Mayor and Deputy Mayor. The Town Mayor receives an allowance to cover the costs involved in undertaking civic duties. Councillors receive no payment for their time, but may claim reimbursement for out of pocket expenses, such as travelling outside of the town council area. The Council currently employs three members of staff; the Town Clerk, a part-time administrative assistant and a caretaker / cleaner.

Abergele Town Council usually meets twice every month, except during August. Meetings are held at the Town Hall, Llanddulas Road, Abergele and are usually on the first and third Thursday each month commencing at 6.45pm. Please refer to the 'Council Meetings and Agenda' page for the dates of forthcoming meetings.

The Council is obliged to adopt a Publication Scheme and provide details of the information which is routinely available to the public. Please use the following links to view the current publication scheme and a summary of the information available.

Abergele Town Council Annual Report 2019 - 2020 - click here

Statutory Guidance - Access to Information on Community and Town Councils (May 2015) - click here

Approved Standing Orders 2016 - click here

Model Publication Scheme (adopted 4th December 2008) - click here

Publications Available - click here

Privacy Policy - click here

Privacy Notice - click here

Freedom of Information Policy - click here

Freedom of Information Request Form - click here

Further details on the work of the Town Council are available from the Town Clerk.

Mandy Evans, Town Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer


Town Guide 19/20-21

Town Guide 19/20-21


View Abergele Town Council in a larger map


Address: twitter
Abergele Town Council,
Llanddulas Road,
Conwy LL22 7BT
Tel: 01745 833242
Fax: 01745 833780

Bookmark and Share